There are not any Michigan food handlers card requirements for common restaurant employees according to current Michigan food safety regulations.
Counties, on the other hand, have the right to pose their own food safety rules. These, of course, can often overlap or differ from the statewide food safety laws so it’s always smart to double check. To contact your local health department, click here for the county directory.
What the state of Michigan does require though, is that at least one person in an establishment receives a Food Manager’s Certificate, also known as a Certified Food Protection Managers (CFPM) card.
Note: Searching online for Michigan food handlers cards will lead to multiple sites claiming that you must have one, and that they have the test for you to take. Most of these websites are incorrect. And they are trying to get you to pay for something that you do NOT necessarily need.
Some US states require everyone in the food facility to receive a food handlers card, even the dishwashers! But Michigan’s food safety laws are pretty lenient in comparison to the rest of the country.
The state of Michigan believes that if one person in a restaurant certifies as a Food Manager then they will be able to pass their knowledge of food safety on to the other employees in the restaurant.
So although you may not be required to receive a Michigan food handlers card or a Michigan food manager’s certificate… There are a few reasons why you still may want to be certified.
What is the Michigan Food Handlers Permit?
The Michigan food handlers permit, also known as the Michigan food handlers card and/or license, is a certificate proving to both employers and public health inspectors that you are qualified to handle unpackaged food products that served to the general public.
👌IMPORTANT: Although the state doesn’t require the Michigan food handlers permit, some restaurant mangers and owners may still make it mandatory in order to receive employment.
How To Get a Food Handlers Card in Michigan
- First, call your local health department just to double check if a Michigan food handlers card is required in your county. Chances are they’re not but it’s best to play it safe.
- Next, choose the appropriate online food handler training provider
- Pay for their course (will usually costs somewhere between $5-$10)
- Take the training (can take up to 1 hour)
- Successfully pass their exam (most online courses require students to get a score of 70% at least)
- Print out multiple copies of your certificate.
- Provide your employer with a copy of your official Michigan food handlers card/ certificate.
Michigan Food Managers Certification
Michigan requires licensed retail food facilities to have at least one certified food manager on staff. The Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) card covers this requirement.
The Michigan Certified Food Manager is the person in charge when present and they must be accessible by phone, text, and email when not physically present during operation.
In order to receive a food managers certificate/ CFPM card, one must take a state-approved food safety course for managers… and successfully pass their test.
Michigan currently recognizes and accepts certifications from ONLY the following National ANSI Certified Food Manager programs:
- 360Training.com, Inc.
- National Registry of Food Safety Professionals
- National Restaurant Association
- Prometrics Inc.
Keep in mind, local county health departments are the regulatory bodies that oversees all food safety laws. Each county’s regulations may vary or evolve over the years.
Thus, it’s important to ALWAYS double check with your local health department on Michigan food handling requirements, in addition to other retail food establishment specifics. Start here for more information. 🙂
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Good Communication Skills
- Being able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic food safety