In the state of Georgia there are no state or county regulations in place that require an individual to receive a Georgia food handlers license.
What is the Georgia Food Handlers License?
The Georgia food handlers license, also known as the Georgia food handlers permit or Georgia food handlers card, is a certificate proving to employers and public health inspectors alike that you are qualified to handle unpackaged food products served to the general public. Once you successfully pass a food safety course, you then will receive a certification. Most food handler licenses will typically last 2-3 years.
It is important to keep in mind though, that some employers or restaurant managers will require food handlers to complete training regardless of lenient state laws.
Did you know? Roughly a fifth of the states in the U.S. require food handler cards for each employee inside the kitchen. Some states even require the servers, bussers, and the dishwashers to receive a certification!
⚠️ Please be aware that many online food safety course providers claim that the state of Georgia requires food handler licenses. This is faulty information. Sure, the food handlers license may boost your resume while looking for a job… but remember, it’s not necessarily needed. It may not be in your best interest paying for a course. ⚠️
The only certification the state of Georgia requires is for a food manager. These are typically shift leaders, aka Persons-in-charge (PIC). Please continue reading for further details.
How to Get a food handlers permit in Georgia
- Select a course online by clicking here, pay the fee, take the training and examination (most courses will only cost $5-10)
- Once you’ve successfully completed the test you’ll get a certificate from the online course provider (not from the county).
- Print out multiple copies of your certification or save the file to your desktop at home. This is just a safety measure, just in case you lose you original Georgia food handlers license
- Provide your employer with a copy of your certificate
Georgia Food Manager Certification and Training
According to Department of Public Health, Georgia requires that every food establishment must have a Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) on premises.
Despite there being no Delaware food handlers license requirement for common kitchen employees, it still may be in your best interest to receive and pass the test for Food Protection Manager training. Not only will this help you during your job application, but it will make you well rounded employee.
Georgia Food Manager Courses
The state of Georgia ONLY allows Food Protection Manager Certifications from the following course providers:
- 360training: Learn2Serve Food Protection Manager Certification Program
- National Registry of Food Safety Professionals: Food Protection Manager Certification Program, International Certified Food Safety Manager
- National Restaurant Association: ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certification Program
- Prometric: Food Protection Manager Certification Program
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Good Communication Skills
- Being able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic food safety
For more information, please visit the Official site of Georgia’s Department of Public Health.