Obtaining a food handlers card in Riverside county can be a little confusing…
So today, we’ll be exploring everything you need to know about getting a food handlers card specifically in Riverside county, California. For those seeking work at a food establishment located within Riverside county, this post is for you!
After all, employees must have a current Food Handler Certificate within ONE WEEK of beginning employment at a food facility inside Riverside county.
Riverside county has it’s own rules and regulations when it comes to food handler cards. The county already had it’s own food safety program long before California implemented a state-wide food safety law back in 2011. Therefore, Riverside county has been exempted from having to follow new regulatory guidelines.
Simply put, food facilities in Riverside county must play by the rules of the county, not the state.
So apron up – let’s dive in!
Riverside Food Handler Card Requirements
All food-related employees working in Riverside county are required by county law to successfully complete a food safety course.
Unlike the rest of California – that requires training from ANSI-accredited course providers – Riverside county requires food-related employees to receive training ONLY from their training provider – StateFoodSafey.
This means that all other food handler cards in the state of California – even if you have successfully completed their training and examination – are not applicable and are considered a non-acceptable substitute inside Riverside county.
The Riverside food handler card training is accessible online, anytime, 7-days a week.
To access the Riverside food handler online portal, just click the button below.
After a new food handler employee successfully completes the given training and examination, they will then be granted an official Riverside food handlers card. Keep in mind, a Riverside county food handlers card expires after two years.
Riverside Food Handling Training & Exam Details
The Riverside food safety training and exam are both accessible through the county’s online portal. Everything you need that relates to your Riverside food handlers card will be found there. The very first thing you’ll need to do is purchase and create an account.
The training and test altogether cost a one-time payment of $27. Keep in mind, debit and credit card payments are accepted only.
The food handler course/training is then followed by a 50 question examination.
Riverside food employees are required to make AT LEAST a 70% on the exam in order to successfully earn the Riverside County food handlers card. But, everything provided on the training portal should be more than enough to make things easy. Also, please be sure to check out the study guide and resources we’ve provided below!
Are you nervous yet? …Well, you shouldn’t be! A person who fails the exam – those who get less than a 70% – may retake the exam two additional times within seven (7) days of the initial testing date, at no additional cost.
If you fail after the third attempt, you will have to repurchase the training and take the quiz again.
We just covered a lot. So to summarize the Riverside county food handlers training, we provided a helpful list below:
- The course is available online
- This course is 100% county-approved. (It’s the ONLY course you should be taking as a food handler in the county of Riverside)
- $27 one-time purchase for the both course and quiz
- 3 test attempts
- 50-question multiple choice quiz
- 70% to pass (a passing score is 35 or more correct answers)
- The Riverside food handlers card expires after 2 years
- After completion, you can access the training portal anytime before your food handlers card expires
Riverside Food Handlers Training Content
Inside the Riverside county training portal, you will learn a lot about general food safety practices. Course objectives include food hazards, personal hygiene, cleaning and sanitizing, and time & temperature controls!
By the end of the Riverside food handlers course, you should be able to:
- Identify how to keep the hands, body and attire clean to protect food and food-contact surfaces from contamination.
- The ability to recognize populations that are highly susceptible to food-borne illness and symptoms and illnesses that must be reported to a manager
- Identify time and temperature control methods and requirements to prevent bacterial growth in food.
- Identify processes and procedures necessary for maintaining a clean and sanitary work environment.
Here are a bit more details though, provided by the county-approved course provider, StateFoodSafety.
Steps to get a Riverside Food Handlers Card
- Click on this link to visit the official Riverside County Food Handlers Card online portal
- Purchase the course and training (one-time purchase of $27)
- Follow the course steps successfully complete training (TIP: Since it’s an online course, we suggest you take notes along the way!)
- Take the 50-question quiz
- Print out your Riverside food handlers card at home (TIP: print multiple copies of your certification or save the file to your desktop at home. This is just a safety measure, just in case you lose you original copy)
- Provide your employer with a copy of your certificate
Riverside Food Handlers Practice Test and Study Resources
Riverside county has provided us with all the tools, practice tests, and resources you need to successfully pass their food handlers exam.
Just simply click the links below to access the resources… and don’t overlook the YouTube video as well! There will be many exam questions and answers seen in the educational video.
- Riverside Food Handler Exam Study Guides (this guide can be used to study for the Riverside Food Handler Exam)
- Food Worker Training Video (Spanish)
- Food Worker Training Video (English)
For various practice exams, please visit our detailed post on food handler cards in the state of California. There is a section in this post that provides a few practice tests!
How long does the Riverside County Food Handlers training take?
The Riverside county food handlers training and test takes around 75 minutes to complete. But training can take longer for those who wish to spend time to study and review in order to be better prepared for the final exam.
Has your Riverside County Food Handlers Card Expired or Been Lost?
If you lose your Riverside food handlers card, simply log back into your training portal using the same username and password as before and print another copy. We always suggest students to print duplicate copies of their food handlers card.
In Riverside, your food handlers card will expire two years after it is issued. To renew your Riverside food handlers card, you must sign up and purchase the county course and pass their test all over again! This ensures that everyone in the county of Riverside is refreshed and up to date with proper food safety procedures and practices!
What else will I need in order to take the food handlers course online?
The county requires you to provide first and last name, address, date of birth, gender, and name of employer. In addition, you will need a valid email address in order to take the course.
Do I have to take the Riverside food handlers course online? What if I don’t have a computer?
You can only take the Riverside food handlers course online.
That means you must find a computer that has good enough internet access. If a computer is not available to you, Riverside county has a few Environmental Health Department office locations that have computers for you to use, free of charge.
To find these office locations, simply click here.
For additional details pertaining to the Riverside County food handlers card, please visit the Department of Environmental Health’s homepage.
For additional details on the state of California’s food handler laws, please click here!